Is 7 A Lucky Number In Hinduism

History Of 7 In Hinduism

The number seven has been seen as having great significance in Hinduism since ancient times. The number 7 is believed to have been associated with spiritual sanctification and cosmic order. In the Vedic scriptures, the Vedic Gods are presented in a trinity of 7 – Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva, each with his own set of 7 arms and 7 mantras. Hinduism places great importance in rituals, and 7 is often seen as the minimum number of repetitions for any given ritual to be considered complete.
The Vedic scriptures place great emphasis on the number 7. It was consider a lucky number by ancient sages, who believed it to be a powerful sign of prosperity and good fortune. Seven is also seen as the number of completeness and perfection, a reminder that the universe is in constant balance and harmony. Even today, many Hindu temples and shrines are designed around the number 7 or its multiples.

Sapta Lakshmi: The Seven Goddesses Of Abundance

In Hinduism, the concept of seven divine beings is an important one. In it’s most popular form, the 7 divine beings are referred to as Sapta Lakshmi. These are seven goddesses of abundance, wealth, success, knowledge, health, love, and fulfillment.
The seven Lakshmi goddesses are Adi Lakshmi (goddess of beginning), Dhana Lakshmi (goddess of wealth), Dhanya Lakshmi (goddess of grain), Gaja Lakshmi (goddess of elephants), Santana Lakshmi (goddess of progeny), Vijaya Lakshmi (goddess of victory), and Vidya Lakshmi (goddess of learning). Each of these goddesses symbolizes a different aspect of abundance and prosperity.
Sapta Lakshmi is often worshipped in Hindu temples as a way to bring about wealth and abundance. Hindus may also keep a figurine of the seven goddesses in their homes. They may make offerings or recite prayers to invoke the goddesses’ blessings in their lives.

7 Zodiac Signs

Hindu astrology is divided into 28 zodiac signs, a system known as the “navagrahas”. These signs are said to be 7 in number, representing the 7 planets in the sky. It is believed that these seven planets control various aspects of human life, such as health, relationships, career, and wealth.
Each of the 7 zodiac signs has its own set of characteristics and traits. For example, Aries is associated with ambition and drive, while Taurus is seen as patient and reliable. Thus, understanding the strengths and weaknesses of each sign can be an important aspect of life, as understanding these can help people make better decisions and attain success.

Significance Of 7 Days In Hindu Calendar

The week of seven days in the Hindu calendar has been given great importance in the religion and culture of India. Each day of the week has been associated with a specific god, each representing a certain quality, marking a particular type of activity and is symbolically associated with a specific day of the week.
For example, Sunday is associated with the Sun god, Surya, who embodies truth and enlightenment. Monday is linked to Chandra or the Moon god, and is seen as a day for reflection. Wednesday is linked to the god of knowledge and wisdom, Brihaspati, and is believed to be a great day for studies and contemplation.

Birth Stones For Each Day Of The Week

In Indian culture, each day of the week is believed to be linked to a particular gemstone. These stones are said to possess the powers and qualities of the god associated with the day. For example, people born on a Sunday are said to be lucky if they wear the ruby, which is seen as the stone of the sun god. People born on a Monday should wear the pearl or moonstone, the stone of the Moon god.
By wearing the right gemstone on the right day, Hindus believe they can increase their opportunities for success and abundance. These gemstones serve as a reminder to live according to the qualities of the god associated with the day to realize their highest potential.

Diwali : Festival Of Lights

Diwali, one of the most important festivals in Hinduism, is celebrated over a period of 7 days. It is said that the 7 days of Diwali represent the 7 different incarnations of the goddess of wealth, Lakshmi.
Diwali is celebrated by lighting diyas (lamps) around the house, exchanging sweets and gifts, and celebrating the victory of good over evil. On the seventh day, all families gather together for the grand finale of Diwali, the lighting of a special lamp. This lamp is thought to bring in wealth and prosperity throughout the year.


In conclusion, it is clear that 7 is seen as an auspicious number in Hinduism. It is associated with the seven gods, seven zodiac signs, seven days in the week, and Diwali, the festival of lights. Furthermore, it is also believed that 7 can bring good luck and abundance, if appropriately used as a talisman. As such, it is no surprise that 7 has been held in high regard in Hindu tradition for centuries.

Jennifer Johnson is an experienced author with a deep passion for exploring the spiritual traditions of different cultures and religions. She has been writing about religion and spirituality for the past ten years in both print and digital platforms, engaging readers in meaningful dialogue about the soul's journey through this life. With degrees in Comparative Religion and English Literature, she brings an insightful perspective to her work that bridges the gap between traditional knowledge and modern theories. A lifelong traveler, Jenn has lived in multiple countries exploring various paths to understanding faith, and her dedication to learning new things is palpable in every piece she creates.

Leave a Comment