What Are The Gods Of Hinduism Called

What Are The Gods Of Hinduism Called

Hinduism is an ancient religion with a complex belief system. It includes gods, goddesses, and personified energies, as well as a host of other spiritual beings, each of which plays an important part in the faith. The gods of Hinduism, who embody strong moral principles, often have fascinating stories associated with their origin and exploits. Here are the most well-known gods, their names, and a brief description of each.


One of the three most important Hindu gods, Vishnu is the presiding deity of the universe. He is an aspect of Brahman and the protector of the world. He is believed to have taken nine different avatar forms, or incarnations. The tenth will appear at the end of the world’s current cycle. He is often portrayed with four arms and wears yellow robes. He is seen as a kindly deity, and presides over the four essential elements of creation: life, attachment, knowledge, and purity.


The second most important Hindu god, Shiva is often depicted with four arms, a trident, and a third eye. He is sometimes referred to as the destroyer of evil and the transformer of souls. He is the most influential and important god in the Hindu pantheon. He is married to the goddess Parvati and they are the parents of Ganesha and Kartikeya, two popular gods in Hinduism. Shiva is associated with destruction, but is also known for his creative side and is often seen as an artist and sculptor.


Known as the creator god, Brahma is one of the trinity of gods in Hinduism and is the husband of Saraswati, the goddess of knowledge and music. He is associated with creating the universe and is often depicted with four heads and four arms. His avatar is Pushkara, a great warrior and king. He is also the father of the four main Hindu gods and is sometimes seen in his form as Prajapati, the protector of the world.


Regarded as the goddess of wealth, fortune and fertility, Lakshmi is one of the most popular Hindu gods. She is the consort of Vishnu, and her attributes are often symbolized by cows, butterflies, and lotus flowers. She is believed to bring good luck in business, marriage, and other areas of life. The most recognizable symbol of Lakshmi is her four hands, which represent the four goals of life: Dharma, or spiritual pursuits; Artha, or worldly success; Kama, or physical pleasure; and Moksha, or liberation.


Ganesha is one of the most beloved gods in Hinduism and is the son of Shiva and Parvati. He is usually depicted with four arms, an elephant head, and a pot belly. He is the god of good fortune and is typically invoked during blessings, especially for new beginnings. He is also the remover of obstacles, and is often seen at the entrance to temples. He is also known for solving problems, eliminating enemies, and bestowing prosperity.


Kartikeya, also known as Murugan, is the son of Shiva and Parvati, and the brother of Ganesha. He is the god of war and is often depicted with a bow and arrows. He is also the god of education and learning, and is known for his devotion to his parents. Kartikeya is usually invoked during festivals and rituals related to martial arts and archery, and is venerated by the warriors who invoke him before going into battle.


Kali is a fierce Hindu goddess and is the consort of Shiva. She is known for her wrath and is depicted as a dark-skinned warrior goddess with four arms. Her main mission is to rid the world of evil and injustice. She is both feared and revered, and is seen as a symbol of the cycle of death and rebirth. She is also the goddess of time, and is believed to be both a destroyer and a protector.

Shiva Versus Vishnu

One of the most important dynamic rivalries in Hinduism is between the two key gods, Shiva and Vishnu. While they are both held in high esteem, they have very different natures, with Vishnu being associated with protection and Shiva with destruction. Shiva represents elements of chaos and wildness, while Vishnu is seen as the embodiment of order and balance. This rivalry is often expressed in the battle between their respective avatars, such as Rama versus Ravana in the Ramayana.

The Feminine Divine

Hinduism is known for its feminine divine, with a multitude of goddesses having important roles. The main goddesses include Saraswati, the goddess of knowledge and music; Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth and fortune; Durga, the goddess of power and strength

Jennifer Johnson is an experienced author with a deep passion for exploring the spiritual traditions of different cultures and religions. She has been writing about religion and spirituality for the past ten years in both print and digital platforms, engaging readers in meaningful dialogue about the soul's journey through this life. With degrees in Comparative Religion and English Literature, she brings an insightful perspective to her work that bridges the gap between traditional knowledge and modern theories. A lifelong traveler, Jenn has lived in multiple countries exploring various paths to understanding faith, and her dedication to learning new things is palpable in every piece she creates.

Leave a Comment